Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
Persons wishing to be heard on a parking citation should contact our office at 828-757-2100 between Monday through Friday (except holidays) from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Show All Answers
Calls involving vicious dogs, dogs at large, and barking dogs are one of the most difficult types of calls to address.
If someone has been bit, call 911 immediately.
If you see a known dog that is vicious running loose, call 828-757-2100 so that an officer can be dispatched. If possible, keep the dog in sight so you can direct the officer to its whereabouts or last known direction of travel. Provide the officer with as much information as possible (i.e. owner, history, time frame offense usually occurs - when applicable).
When the dog(s) is barking, call 828-757-2100 so an officer can be dispatched at the time of the occurrence. The officer has to witness the dog(s) barking in order to make a determination and address the issue with the owners.
If you see an animal that is abandoned, malnourished, or living in less than sanitary (humane) conditions, please call 828-757-2100. An officer will be dispatched to address the situation and will contact Animal Control for assistance.
Call 828-757-2100 so an officer can be dispatched. If the accident is new and the animal is still alive, it is recommended that you do not handle it. Many animals are scared and likely to bite the handler in order to protect themselves. If you see that an animal is dead, please call 828-757-2100 so that we may contact the Street Department for clean up.
Contact us at 828-757-2140 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday (except holidays).
Please call 828-757-2100 to obtain police reports such as arrest and incident records.
Crash reports investigated by all of North Carolina's law enforcement agencies are forwarded to the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). The public may obtain copies of crash reports from the DMV one of two ways:
The DMV will provide certified copies at a cost of $5.50 and citizens must fill out a TR-67A form.
Click the following link to go to the DMV website and read more about crash reports and to download the TR-67A form, https://www.ncdot.gov/dmv/offices-services/records-reports/Pages/crash-reports.aspx
Contact our Records Staff at 828-757-2147 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday (except holidays). Download and complete a Trespass Agreement Form (PDF). If you mail the agreement back, please be sure to have it notarized before submitting it to the department.
Contact our Records Staff at 828-757-2147, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday (except holidays). Download and complete a Property Check Request (PDF). You will need to submit this request in person so that your identification can be checked.
Email Zack Carter or call him at 828-757-2187 or stop by the Mulberry Street Recreation Center located on 720 Mulberry Street Monday through Friday (except holidays) to fill out an application (PDF). The request should be made at least 14 business days prior to your special event.
Parking ticket fines should can be mailed or paid in person to our Records Staff at:1035 West AvenueLenoir, NC 28645
We also have a curbside payment drop box located in the front of the building for your convenience for after hour payments. Please enclose payment (no coins) with the parking violation envelope for correct processing.
After a Parking Fine is issued, the violator has 30 days to pay. If not paid:
North Carolina Debt Setoff, a collection agency, will be used to collect unpaid parking violations totaling $50 or greater. After notification and grace period, the case may be turned over for collection through North Carolina State taxes.
Please be advised that a wheel lock may be used to prevent a vehicle from being moved until fines are paid. Arrangements for the release of the vehicle must be made with the Lenoir Police Department within 48 hours or the vehicle will be towed at the owner's expense.
The new charge for removal of a wheel lock is now $50 and must be paid between 8 a.m. to 4 p.m, Monday through Friday (except holidays). After 4 p.m, the fee for removal goes up to $75.
It is advised that you first contact the Platoon Supervisor in charge at the time to report a complaint. If you feel the complaint warrants additional review, you have the option of addressing your concern with the Division Captain or Chief of Police.
Contrary to what the popular belief is, it is possible to be charged with carrying a concealed weapon in a locked glove box based on the proximity of the key (if the key is on the ignition key ring) to the glove box. The safest location is on the passenger seat, or the dash where it is in plain view of an approaching officer. If you are not sure about the accessibility question, play it safe and lock it in the trunk of your vehicle.
You must be at least 20 years of age; possess a high school diploma; you must be a U.S. citizen; you must not have been convicted of any Class B misdemeanor or above and; you must have completed a Basic Law Enforcement Training program through an accredited community college. More information can be found under the Recruiting Section of this website.
You must be at least 18 years of age; possess a high school diploma; you must not have been convicted of any Class B misdemeanor or above.